Top 4 things to know about ETIAS

In order to control the entry of foreign nationals into the Euro zone, the European Union has decided to set up an online travel authorization system.  This European authorization system is based on the American ESTAS model and is called ETIAS.  Have you heard about it and would like to know a little more ?  Here are 4 things to know about ETIAS!

What is ETIAS?

The ETIAS is a visa waiver program that can give access to certain European countries.  People benefiting from ETIAS will therefore be able to enter the Schengen area without having to directly apply for a visa at the embassy of the country concerned.  To learn more, visit

ETIAS is for whom?

Unfortunately, ETIAS is not intended for everyone.  In fact, only nationals of countries eligible for ETIAS are likely to benefit from this online authorization.  60 countries are eligible for this program including Malaysia, Macedonia, Ukraine and Taiwan.

What to know about the validity period?

The ETIAS is a travel authorization valid for 3 years.  However, this does not mean that you will be able to spend three years in the territory of the Schengen area.  In fact, the maximum length of stay must not exceed 90 days, and this over a period of six months.  You will therefore be able to use your authorization for several entries into the Schengen area.

Is ETIAS authorization mandatory?

At the moment, ETIAS is not yet compulsory.  It will not be launched until the end of 2022. It will not become compulsory until 2023. Nationals of eligible countries will therefore have around six months to familiarize themselves with the new system.

Here is the essential you should know about the new European travel authorization system.